You can also view the overflow route flow characteristics by opening the pop-up menu for each overflow route and inspecting the Cross Section Data page in its property sheet. This provides a view of the nominated overflow cross-section and statistics of flow. Slope and the percentage of the contributing downstream sub-catchment area can be varied to determine flow characteristics all along the route.
From the Edit menu you can select the Copy Data to Spreadsheet and Copy Results to Spreadsheet options. Then paste this data into a blank spreadsheet and examine the tables, which provide documentation of the results of a run.
The background in this model was imported into DRAINS from a DXF file created in a CAD program, shown below, that was used to determine pipe lengths and sub-catchment areas. To transfer a background to DRAINS you must open DRAINS as a new model, and from the File menu, select the options Import and Import DXF File and import the file Gymea Base Drawing.dxf from the folder containing the examples.
You will be asked to nominate layers for pits, pipes and a background (in the original DXF file, pits are drawn as circles and pipes as lines). Both components and background appear, and the background colour can be changed using an option in the View menu.